top of page

Feature Interview with NoSo




This week's feature artist is alternative and indie singer/songwriter, NoSo. The 24-year-old gets vulnerable about their experience as a queer, non-binary Asian American in their new album, Stay Proud of Me.


Read more of the interview between Laura and NoSo:


How did you pick your name? Is it significant for something?

- While growing up in a predominately white suburb outside of Chicago, anytime I mentioned I was Korean, kids would ask me “North or South”? I was originally going to make music under the moniker North or South, but my dad suggested NoSo so it’s less conspicuous and more catchy. It’s a way for me to reclaim it as part of my own journey and narrative.


When writing, are there any specific experiences or stories you used in your new album?

- I used a lot of my own early childhood memories with gender and identity on the record. It takes me a while to process my own feelings, and sometimes I require months, years, or decades to properly articulate my thoughts about a certain experience.


Who are some of your favorite childhood artists that influenced your style of music?

- One of the first concerts I saw as a kid was Bonnie Raitt, and she was an early inspiration for me to start playing guitar. Although this record is heavily synth and lyric driven, guitar is still my first love with music and it influences every song I write.


Talk a little bit about your new album, Stay Proud of Me. Is there a song on the album that is very significant or special to you?

- I think "Parasites" is the most special and personal one to me; I wrote it about top surgery and I speak to my younger self in the lyrics about surgery, gender and the future.


Are there any artists/songs you like right now that you want to share?

- "Steps" by Skullcrusher, "Kiss City" by Blondshell and "Mona Lisa" by Yumi Zouma!








Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page